× Post questions here about other issues concerning late payment.

Recovering payment from client ~130 days overdue

More
3 years 1 month ago #4162 by Seoman
Hello,

I've been looking into my options for recovering payment £850.00 from a client for an invoice from 9/10/2020, now over 90 days overdue. Hopefully, you can give me some advice on this. I'd like to know:

- What options are most appropriate for my situation
- Their likelihood of success
- What each option typically costs

Here are the details:

I'm a self-employed digital marketing consultant. The client has a garden design business. We have been working together for two years without issues. The job in question was completed on time and according to the brief, and he personally approved the content before I published on his website. The total fee for this job, because it was a one-off and not part of a contracted monthly package, was agreed in writing on WhatsApp (I have a record of this). Within the last couple of weeks, he also emailed indicating that he accepts the invoice and asked me to send it again, which I did. He now seems to be ignoring further reminders. I assumed I had no recourse to recover this debt without a formal signed contract, but looking at the following advice online suggests otherwise:

www.mastercollections.co.uk/owed-money-but-have-no-contract.html

www.lawdonut.co.uk/business/contracts-disputes/debt-recovery/debt-recovery-faqs

He also paid the first of the two instalments of this fee on schedule and without dispute, so might this be further supporting evidence of our agreement?

Thank you

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 1 month ago #4163 by j.salmon@cpa.co.uk
Hi,